Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Anthropology

Anthropology is the study of people, both ancient and contemporary, in their biological, archaeological, cultural, and linguistic context. Anthropology uses a holistic approach to integrate findings from the social sciences, natural sciences, and the humanities. The primary educational mission of the Department of Anthropology is teaching, research, and professional service to impart the critical importance of understanding the human condition and its relevancy to an increasingly diverse world.

Website: http://cas.umt.edu/anthropology/
Contact: SS 203 (406) 243-2693
Chair: Gilbert Quintero



Anthropology Faculty

Appelbaum, Irene

Director, Linguistics Program
Office: Social Sciences 211  |  Phone: 406-243-4837  |  irene.appelbaum@umontana.edu

Bar-el, Leora

Associate Professor
Office: Social Sciences 210  |  Phone: 406-243-2387  |  leora.bar-el@umontana.edu

Campbell, Gregory

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 227  |  Phone: 406-243-2478  |  gregory.campbell@mso.umt.edu

Dixon, Kelly

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 235  |  Phone: 406-243-2450  |  kelly.dixon@mso.umt.edu

Douglas, John

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 233  |  Phone: 406 243-4246  |  john.douglas@umontana.edu

Greymorning, S. Neyooxet

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 221, Native American Center 203F  |  Phone: 406-243-4409 - 406 243-6381  |  neyooxet.greymorning@mso.umt.edu

Kia, Ardeshir

Associate Director, Central and Southwest Asia Program
Office: Stone Hall 303B  |  Phone: (406) 243-2235  |  ardi.kia@mso.umt.edu

MacDonald, Douglas

Associate Professor
Office: Social Sciences 216, Corbin (Lab) 148  |  Phone: 406-243-5814  |  douglas.macdonald@umontana.edu

McKay, Kimber Haddix

Professor / Dept. Chair
Office: Social Sciences 213  |  Phone: (406) 243-4106  |  kimber.mckay@mso.umt.edu

McKeown, Ashley

Associate Professor
Office: Social Sciences 225  |  Phone: 406-243-2145  |  ashley.mckeown@umontana.edu

Miyashita, Mizuki

Associate Professor
Office: Social Sciences 212  |  Phone: 406-243-5164  |  mizuki.miyashita@umontana.edu

Prentiss, Anna

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 205  |  Phone: 406-243-6152  |  anna.prentiss@umontana.edu

Quintero, Gilbert

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 224  |  Phone: 406-243-5825  |  gilbert.quintero@umontana.edu

Skelton, Randall

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 226  |  Phone: 406-243-4245  |  randall.skelton@umontana.edu

Thibeau, Tully

Associate Professor
Office: Social Sciences 207  |  Phone: 406-243-2156  |  tully.thibeau@umontana.edu

Weix, G.G.

Professor
Office: Social Sciences 223  |  Phone: 406-243-6319  |  gg.weix@mso.umt.edu