Faculty in the Department of History

Professors

Richard Drake Professor of History

Office: LA 257A
Email: richard.drake@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Modern European Social, Cultural, and Intellectual History; Italian History; Terrorism; Contemporary Europe; Historiography; Modern American Foreign Policy


John Eglin Professor of History

Office: LA 255
Email: john.eglin@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

Early Modern European History, particularly Great Britain; Cultural History


Linda S. Frey Professor of History

Office: LA 252
Email: linda.frey@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Early Modern European History, particularly France and Germany; International Law and the International State System; The French Revolution


Robert H. Greene Associate Professor of History; Chair of the History Department

Office: LA 258
Email: robert.greene@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

Cultural and Social History of Russia and the Soviet Union; Religious History


Anya Jabour Professor of History; Co-Director, Women & Gender Studies

Office: LA 262
Email: anya.jabour@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

U.S. Social, Political, and Cultural History; Women, Family, Gender, and Sexuality; The American South; Progressive Era and New Deal


Mehrdad Kia Professor of History; Director, Central and Southwest Asian Studies Center

Office: Stone Hall 303C
Email: mehrdad.kia@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Middle Eastern History; Central Asia; North Africa; Islamic Civilization


Michael Mayer Professor of History

Office: LA 253
Email: michael.mayer@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

United States since 1945; History of American Law; U.S. Civil Rights Movement; Post-World War II American Culture


Jody Pavilack Associate Professor of History; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Office: LA 265
Email: jody.pavilack@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Modern Latin American History; Social, Cultural, and Political History; Labor; Historical Memory


Tobin Miller Shearer Associate Professor of History; Director of African-American Studies

Office: LA 262
Email: tobin.shearer@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

African-American History; Race; Religious History


Kyle G. Volk Associate Professor of History; Director of Graduate Studies

Office: LA 260
Email: kyle.volk@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

U.S. Political, Legal, Social, & Intellectual History; Civil Rights, Civil Liberties, & American Democracy; The Long Nineteenth Century


Jeff Wiltse Associate Professor of History

Office: LA 263
Email: jeff.wiltse@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Modern American Social and Cultural History; Public Space and Public Life; Montana History


Visiting Faculty

Gillian Glaes Visiting Associate Professor of History

Office: LA 259
Email: gillian.glaes@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Modern Transnational and Global History; Europe, Africa, and Latin America; Postcolonialism and the State


Lecturers

George Price Lecturer

Office: NAC 203E
Email: george.price@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

History of early American intercultural relations


Research Faculty

Ted Catton
Associate Research Professor

Office: home
Email: ted.r.catton@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

History of conservation, Indians and the environment, the fur trade, National Park Service organizational history


Diane Krahe
Faculty Affiliate

Office: home
Email: diane.krahe@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

Environmental History, Indian History, Public History, Wilderness


Steven I. Levine
Research Faculty Associate

Email: steven.levine@mso.umt.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Hayden Ausland
Professor

Office: LA 424
Email: hayden.ausland@mso.umt.edu

David Beck
Professor

Office: NAC 203D
Email: dave.beck@mso.umt.edu

Richmond Clow
Professor

Office: NAC 203G
Email: clowrl@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Focus: Tribal resource management, politics on Montana's Reservations


Wade Davies
Professor & Co-Chair

Office: NAC 203A
Email: wade.davies@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Navajo health and healing, Native American sports and games


Ardeshir Kia
Associate Director, Central and Southwest Asia Program

Office: Stone Hall 303B
Email: ardi.kia@mso.umt.edu