Accessible Navigation.

Faculty & Staff

Professors

Sarah J. Halvorson

Sarah J. Halvorson Professor

Office: Stone Hall 211
Email: sarah.halvorson@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Water Resource Geography, Hazards and Disasters, Mountain Geography, Gender and the Environment, Central and South Asia.


Ulrich Kamp

Ulrich Kamp Professor

Office: Stone Hall 205
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: ulrich.kamp@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Cryosphere, Environmental Change, Geomorphology, Mountain Geography, Natural Hazards, Remote Sensing.


Christiane von Reichert

Christiane von Reichert Professor and Chair

Office: Stone Hall 210
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: chris.vonreichert@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Migration, Rural Areas, Economic Geography, Socio-demographic Community Analysis, Transportation, Geographically Marginalized Populations.


David Shively

David Shively Professor

Office: Stone Hall 212
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: david.shively@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Environmental Geography, Geomorphology, Spatial/Land Use Planning, Water Resources, Watershed Management.


Associate Professors

Anna Klene

Anna Klene Associate Professor

Office: Stone Hall 216
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: anna.klene@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Arctic and Alpine Environments, Climatology, Cryosphere, Geomorphology, Modeling, Remote Sensing.


Assistant Professors

Diep Dao

Diep Dao Assistant Professor

Office: Stone Hall 207
Email: diep.dao@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Geographical Information Science (GIScience), Spatial Analysis and Modeling, Spatial Data Mining, GeoComputation, Time Geography, GPS-based Positioning and Navigation


Thomas Sullivan

Thomas Sullivan Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: 307B Stone Hall
Email: thomas.sullivan@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Social and Cultural Geography, Urban and Recreational Planning, Sustainable and Active Transportation, Sustainable Practices within the Planning and Design Professions, Place and Identity Studies


Lecturers

Rick Graetz

Rick Graetz Lecturer

Office: Stone Hall 307A
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: rick.graetz@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Mountain Geography, Crown of the Continent, United States, Geographical Education, Historical Geography.


Kevin McManigal

Kevin McManigal Lecturer & GIST Certificate Coordinator

Office: 206 Stone Hall
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: kevin.mcmanigal@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing, Mountain Geography, Glaciology


Adjunct

Leah Samberg

Leah Samberg

Office: 213 Stone Hall
Email: leah.samberg@umontana.edu

Affiliates

Donald Alford

Donald Alford Hydrology Consultant

Office: Billings, MT
Specialization: 

Hydrology, Glaciology, Mountains, Asia


Heather Almquist

Heather Almquist

Office: Stone Hall 304C
Email: heather.almquist@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Geoscience and Geospatial Education, Paleoecology, Historical Geography.


Claudia J. Carr

Claudia J. Carr Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Office: 137 Giannini Hall, UC-Berkeley, CA
Email: claudiacarr@berkeley.edu
Specialization: 

International and Rural Resource Development


Zachary A. Holden

Zachary A. Holden Ecologist

Office: 200 East Broadway St.
Email: zaholdenfs@gmail.com
Specialization: 

Ecology, Climate, Climate Change,  Remote Sensing, biogeography, fire ecology


Irena Mrak

Irena Mrak Assistant Research Professor

Office: Department of Geography, The University of Ljubljana
Email: irena.mrak@siol.net
Specialization: 

Geomorphology, Glaciology, Hazards, "High" Asia, Mountain Geography.


Emeritus

John Donahue

John Donahue Emeritus Professor

Specialization: 

Geomorphology & soils, raster GIS & image analysis


Jeffrey Gritzner

Jeffrey Gritzner Emeritus Professor

Office: Stone Hall 204
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: jeffrey.gritzner@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Environmental change & restoration, Africa & Middle East


Darshan S. Kang

Darshan S. Kang Emeritus Professor

Specialization: 

Quantitative, field & teaching methods, South Asia


Paul Wilson

Paul Wilson Emeritus Professor

Specialization: 

Cartography & GIS,  historical & urban geography


Staff