Accessible Navigation.

Faculty & Staff

Professors

Sarah J. Halvorson

Sarah J. Halvorson Professor

Office: Stone Hall 211
Phone: (406) 243-2793
Email: sarah.halvorson@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Water Resource Geography, Hazards and Disasters, Mountain Geography, Gender and the Environment, Central and South Asia.


Christiane von Reichert

Christiane von Reichert Professor and Chair

Office: Stone Hall 210
Phone: 406-243-4784
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: chris.vonreichert@mso.umt.edu

Specialization: 

Migration, Rural Areas, Economic Geography, Socio-demographic Community Analysis, Transportation, Geographically Marginalized Populations.


David Shively

David Shively Professor

Office: Stone Hall 212
Phone: (406) 243-4302
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: david.shively@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Environmental Geography, Geomorphology, Spatial/Land Use Planning, Water Resources, Watershed Management.


Associate Professors

Ulrich Kamp

Ulrich Kamp Associate Professor

Office: Stone Hall 205
Phone: (406) 243-6469
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: ulrich.kamp@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Cryosphere, Environmental Change, Geomorphology, Mountain Geography, Natural Hazards.


Anna Klene

Anna Klene Associate Professor

Office: Stone Hall 216
Phone: None
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: anna.klene@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Arctic and Alpine Environments, Climatology, Cryosphere, Geomorphology, Modeling, Remote Sensing.


Assistant Professors

Diep Dao

Diep Dao Assistant Professor

Office: Stone Hall 207
Phone: 406-243-6821
Email: diep.dao@mso.umt.edu

Specialization: 

Geographical Information Science (GIScience), Spatial Analysis and Modeling, Spatial Data Mining, GeoComputation, Time Geography, GPS-based Positioning and Navigation


Lecturers

Rick Graetz

Rick Graetz Lecturer

Office: Stone Hall 307A
Phone: 406-243-2307
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: rick.graetz@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Mountain Geography, Crown of the Continent, United States, Geographical Education, Historical Geography.


Kevin McManigal

Kevin McManigal Lecturer & GIST Certificate Coordinator

Office: 206 Stone Hall
Phone: 406-243-6691
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: kevin.mcmanigal@mso.umt.edu

Specialization: 

Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing, Mountain Geography, Glaciology


Adjunct

Loey Knapp

Loey Knapp Director of Special Projects

Office: SS 126
Phone: 243-6309
Email: loey.knapp@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Cartography, GIS, Southeast Asia.


Caleb Pan

Caleb Pan Adjunct Instructor

Office: Stone Hall, 307B
Email: caleb.pan@mso.umt.edu

Specialization: 

Mountain Geography, Environmental Change, Remote Sensing of Snow and Ice, Alpine Hydrology, Central Asia, and South American Andes.


Affiliates

Heather Almquist

Heather Almquist

Office: Stone Hall 304C
Phone: 406-370-0139
Email: heather.almquist@umontana.edu

Specialization: 

Geoscience and Geospatial Education, Paleoecology, Historical Geography.


Claudia J. Carr

Claudia J. Carr Associate Professor of Environmental Science, Poli

Office: 137 Giannini Hall, UC-Berkeley
Phone: 510-643-3964
Email: claudiacarr@berkeley.edu

Specialization: 

International and Rural Resource Development


Zachary A. Holden

Zachary A. Holden Ecologist

Office: 200 East Broadway St.
Phone: 406 329-3119
Email: zaholdenfs@gmail.com

Specialization: 

Ecology, Climate, Climate Change,  Remote Sensing, biogeography, fire ecology


Philip Maechling

Philip Maechling

Email: maechling@bigsky.net

Specialization: 

Landscape and Community Planning, Historic Preservation


Irena Mrak

Irena Mrak Assistant Research Professor

Office: Department of Geography, The University of Ljubljana
Email: irena.mrak@siol.net

Specialization: 

Geomorphology, Glaciology, Hazards, "High" Asia, Mountain Geography.


Thomas Sullivan

Thomas Sullivan

Email: thomas.sullivan@mso.umt.edu

Specialization: 

Social and Cultural Geography, Performance Theory, Urban and Recreational Planning, Sustainable Transportation Systems.


Emeritus

Evan Denney

Evan Denney Emeritus Faculty



John Donahue

John Donahue Emeritus Faculty



Jeffrey Gritzner

Jeffrey Gritzner emeritus Professor

Office: Stone Hall 210
Phone: 406-243-5626
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: jeffrey.gritzner@umontana.edu


Darshan S. Kang

Darshan S. Kang Emeritus Faculty

Phone: (406) 243-4302
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: Darshan.Kang@mso.umt.edu

Specialization: 

Soil and Water Resources Evaluation and Management Green Revolution and Environment Population, Land, and Food Problems in South Asia Atmospheric Hazards


Paul Wilson

Paul Wilson Emeritus Professor

Phone: (406) 243-4302
Email: paul.wilson@mso.umt.edu


Staff

Nancy Forman-Ebel

Nancy Forman-Ebel Departmental Assistant

Office: Stone Hall 208
Phone: 406-243-4302
Fax: 406-243-4840
Email: nancy.forman-ebel@umontana.edu